Back on the wagon

No posts for a few weeks. I knew that would happen at some point… rather hoped I’d stick to a regular once-a-week for a bit longer, though! I’ve been in one of those places where attempting to think about the good things in life leads me into thinking about the things that AREN’T good and feeling powerless to change them. That’s a bad cycle to get into. Time for a fresh start.

This week I started working on implementing my personal development plan at work. First step was getting involved with some of the analysis & decision-making that our strategy manager does. What he asked me to do looked pretty simple, but between the crappy reporting tools we have that mean it can take days to extract the data I needed, the short weeks either side of the Easter break, and making a few mistakes along the way, I got the report completed & turned in at the very last minute. After working on it until 11:30pm, then being unable to fall asleep, then waking up at 3am, then getting up at 7:30 to get online & send the report in I was KNACKERED. So glad I was working from home that day. It’s going to take me a few days to get over that effort, and all my joints are aching in retribution for not getting enough sleep.

One of the things I was determined about when I was first diagnosed with Crohns was that the disease wasn’t going to run my life. I was damned if I was going to spend all my time curled up under a blanket. And looking back, I’ve done pretty well – since being diagnosed I’ve completed a 4-year Uni degree, got married, moved countries, bought a house… and another house… travelled, taken drawing lessons and been a short film actor and created an Excel-based tool that is gradually being implemented for use across all the 30 or so account managers at my company. And what I want to be looking back on in another 10 years or so is a similar string of “look what I DID!” rather than an endless desert landscape of “look what I wished I’d done…” But with each passing year and each additional health problem, that gets a little bit harder. So I’ve got to smarten up my act a bit. First thing: learn not to overdo it. I CANNOT keep up with late nights and early mornings. I have to make sure I get a reasonable amount of sleep and remember to ALWAYS take the tablets that help me sleep, until such a time as the docs think I can come off them. I’m tapering them down already, and aside from that one night where I’d overworked myself I sleep well as long as I take the tablets. Next thing is my general health – I’m improving my diet, losing some of the 2 stone I put on last year, and my energy levels are much better than they were six months ago. I can walk the ten minutes to the slimming club I joined (even though it seems like such a cliche) without being exhausted for a day afterward. But I need to start doing some small amounts of regular exercise – just 5 minutes a day to begin with, I think, and I’ll build it up from there.

Tomorrow is a new day, right? And even better – it’s a FRIDAY.

So, very quickly, here’s the wrap:
I’m grateful for the company I work for. They’ve been very good to me, and are willing to give me opportunities to develop myself & my career.

I produced a very large report analysing sales & profit across the business, and I dealt with a fair number of problems along the way. Even though I wrecked myself in the process, I still did a good thing.

A good thing that happened… well, I was given the opportunity to do the big giant exhausting report. I guess that’s a good thing. And I got some positive feedback from the business unit director for it. My next task will be to identify specific products that are desperately in need of a pricing review, and recommend actions to take on them. And being given that opportunity is a good thing, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back on the wagon

  1. Sooooooooo super proud of you 🙂 you’re doing INCREDIBLE things that people who are completely well dont pull off. You are amazing and an inspiration. Dont give up because you’re doing wonderfully xxxxx

Leave a Reply

